20 Nov 2019

USA: 26th Annual TEA Thea Award Recipients Announced

Photo: TEAThe recipients of the “TEA Thea Awards”, the “industry Oscar” of the international entertainment industry, issued by the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA), were officially announced yesterday during the IAAPA Expo 2019 in Orlando/Florida. “TEA congratulates the new TEA Thea Awards recipients, representing excellence, innovation and leadership in the creation of compelling places and experiences,” said TEA International Board President Michael Blau (of Adirondack Studios). The awards will be presented during the “TEA Summit and Thea Awards Gala” to be held from 16 to 18 April 2020 at Disneyland Resort in Anaheim/CA.

The “Buzz Price Thea Award”, which is recognizing a lifetime of distinguished achievements, goes to Nancy Seruto, Shanghai Disney Resort Creative Executive, Walt Disney Imagineering. The “Thea Classic Award” goes to “Pageant of the Masters” in Laguna Beach, CA/USA.

Among the recipients in the category of “Outstanding Achievement (AOA)” are the following European prize winners: The Cool Planet Experience in Wicklow/Ireland; Fram Museum in Oslo/Norway; Jeff Wayne’s Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The Immersive Experience in London/UK; Walibi Belgium’s “Popcorn Revenge” in Wavre/Belgium; “Le Premier Royaume” at Puy du Fou in Les Epesses/France.

The “TEA Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award” for exceptional volunteer service to the association goes to Wendy Heimann-Nunes from Nolan Heimann LLP. (eap)

Click here for all winners.