20 Nov 2020

USA: Congratulations! – These Are the 27th Thea Awards Recipients & the Incoming TEA International Board President

The winners of the 27th edition of the Thea Awards have now been announced – as was announced by the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) online last night. Among the 16 “Thea Awards for Outstanding Achievement (AOA)” winners, four come from Europe: the two dark ride attractions “Sesame Street: Street Mission” (PortAventura) and “Snorri Touren” (Europa-Park), the “D.R.E.A.M. Centre”, a facility especially designed for children and young people with complex physical disabilities by the Chailey Heritage Foundation, and the “Les Quais de Lutèce Hotel” at France’s Parc Astérix.

The “Thea Classic Award” goes to the British amusement park Blackpool Pleasure Beach, which will celebrate its 125th anniversary next year. Walt Disney Imagineering President Bob Weis can look forward to a “The Buzz Price Thea Award”, which honors an individual for “life-long outstanding achievements”. The “TEA Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award”, “recognizing exceptional volunteer service to the association”, goes to Dale Sprague, co-owner of Canyon Creative. To celebrate the award winners, the international association will be organizing a series of Thea Awards Digital Case Studies from July to December 2021.

In addition, outgoing TEA International Board President Michael Blau symbolically handed over the gavel to his successor Chuck Fawcett (Animax Designs) yesterday. (eap)