11 Nov 2020

IAAPA Announces Award Winners 2020

Der ehemalige Liseberg-CEO Mats Wedin (l.) wird in die IAAPA Hall of Fame aufgenommen, während sein Amtsnachfolger Andreas V. Andersen den IAAPA Outstanding Service Award erhält.

Every year, traditionally during the IAAPA Expo in November, the International Association of Amusement Parks & Attractions (IAAPA) presents several industry awards in various categories to personalities from the leisure and attractions business who have rendered outstanding services and commitment to the industry.

Yesterday, the IAAPA announced this year’s award winners, among whom are the following European professionals: Andreas Veilstrup Andersen, CEO of Sweden’s amusement park Liseberg & IAAPA Chairman in 2018, receives the “IAAPA Outstanding Service Award”, while the “IAAPA Lifetime Service Award” is presented to David Bromilow, Global Director Parks & Attractions at software provider Mobaro. “The Young Professional of the Year 2020” award also goes to Europe this year: Charles Coyle, member of the owner family of Tayto Park in Kilbrew, Ireland, was announced as the award winner.

A special distinction of the global industry association is the admission to the “IAAPA Hall of Fame”, which this year is being presented to Mats Wedin, who headed Liseberg as Managing Director for more than 17 years and who still holds several board positions, including in the board of Astrid Lindgrens Värld and of Parks & Resorts Scandinavia. In addition to Wedin, Disney veterans Greg Hale, VP & Chief Safety Officer at Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, and Tony Baxer, Walt Disney Imagineering, will also be inducted into the IAAPA Hall of Fame this year.

The official honoring of all IAAPA Award winners will take place next week Tuesday (November 17) during the "IAAPA Expo: Virtual Education Conference". (eap)