08 May 2013

Europa-Park Wins Thea Classic Award

Europa-Park Wins Thea Classic Award

Michael Mack (li.) und Bruce Vaughn, Kreativ-Chef bei Walt Disney, im Rahmen der THEA Award Gala.

The annual Thea Awards were presented by the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) already for the 19th time. “And the winner is … Europa-Park“ was the announcement during the award ceremony in Anaheim in April. Germany’s Europa-Park won the “Thea Classic Award”, one of the greatest honors in the American entertainment industry for excellent and innovative performances within the amusement and leisure industry. Michael Mack, member of the executive board of Europa-Park, received the prize in Anaheim. According to the TEA, “… Europa-Park has stood the test of time while setting ever-higher standards exemplifying the highest standards of excellence in the creation and production of compelling places and experiences”. The association was particularly impressed by the success story of the Mack family who began their career 230 years ago with building vehicles for showmen in Waldkirch, Germany … and who developed Europa-Park to one of the leading theme parks in the world. Not only the lovingly design of the 13 theme areas within the park but also the development of the park to one of the most popular short-break destinations were reason enough for the TEA committee to recognize Europa-Park for its outstanding achievements.

Besides Europa-Park, further European parks and companies have been awarded for their outstanding achievement: Dutch amusement park Efteling for its multi-media show “Aquanura”, London’s Warner Bros. Studio Tour “The Making of Harry Potter” and the French ECA2 company for their “Big-O Show” at the World Expo 2012 in Korea. After the end of the Expo, the “Big-O Show” became a permanent tourist attraction with a symbolic character. (eap)

Read also