18 Nov 2022

USA: Announcement of the 29th Thea Award Recipients

The Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) has announced the winners of this year‘s 29th Thea Awards as usual at the IAAPA Expo in Orlando. The awards, which have been presented since 1994, will be formally presented on April 15, 2023 at the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, California.

One very special award, the “Buzz Price Award“, which is presented for a lifetime of outstanding performance, will go to Germany this year. To be precise, to Roland Mack, founder and managing partner of the Europa-Park. Mack founded Europa-Park in Rust with his father, Franz Mack, back in 1975. He is also a partner in the family business Mack Rides, one of the leading producers of theme park attractions. In 1978, Mack was also a founding member of the Association of German Theme Parks and Family Businesses (VDFU), where he later served as vice president. He was also the first German to serve as president of the IAAPA in 2011/2012.

The “Catalyst Award“, given to individuals who have made a special, individual contribution to the industry, will be presented this year to two women from the industry: Susana Tubert, Creative Director at Disney Live Entertainment, Disneyland Parks & Resorts and The Walt Disney Company. As well as to Chevy Humphrey, president and CEO of the Museum of Science & Industry in Chicago and Board Chair of the American Alliance of Museums.

The winners of the “Classic Award“ then get to celebrate in their own park in mid-April. Because this year, the award will go to the Disneyland in Anaheim for their “Disney‘s Main Street Electrical Parade“. The parade, first held at Disneyland Anaheim in 1972, celebrated its 50th anniversary this year. Since first night, it has enjoyed great popularity with fans, who had the chance to view the parade of lights in the dark twice each night this year. With more than 600,000 electrically controlled LED lights, coordinated soundtracks and live performances, the parade features scenes and characters from Disney classics,.

As many as four “Thea Awards for Outstanding Achievement“ go to European parks. Among others, the Futuroscope theme park in France for their worldwide unique motion theater attraction “Chasseurs de Tornades“. As well as in the “Attraction Limited Budget“ category to Sweden‘s Liseberg Park in Gothenburg for their “Underlandet“ theme ride opened in 2021. Irish National Stud & Gardens wins the award in the “Museum Limited Budget“ category with their exhibit “The Irish Racehorse Experince“. In addition, the Lisbon Eartquake Center scores in the “Historical Experience Limited Budget“ category with their immersive exhibit “Quake“, which tells the story of the earthquake that occurred in 1755.

Also not to go unmentioned at this point is the “Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award“, which goes to Kevin Murphy for his years of support of the TEA, its EME Division and its global members. As well as another to Peter Weishar for advancing the industry through education, program development and support of TEA NextGen members.

Congratulations to the above and all other winners of the 29th Thea Awards! (eap)

Read also